Publikoval: Jana | október 12, 2006

*Shakespeare*

I know that a lot of people hate Shakespeare…it is boring, strange language… When I attended secondary school I didn´t like Shakespeare too. But now I like him. I like his plays: The Merry Wives of Windsor, A Midsummer Night´s Dream, The Merchant of Venice, The Tempest and the Sonnets. I read the “Tempest” first time last year:) and this year my schoolmate and my friend Oli borrowed me “the Sonnets” and I love this. You can read a few parts of the Sonnets written below:

LXXXIX

Say that thou didst forsake me for some fault,
And I will comment upon that offence:
Speak of my lameness, and I straight will halt,
Against thy reasons making no defence.
Thou canst not love disgrace me half so ill,
To set a form upon desired change,
As I’ll myself disgrace; knowing thy will,
I will acquaintance strangle, and look strange;
Be absent from thy walks; and in my tongue
Thy sweet beloved name no more shall dwell,
Lest I, too much profane, should do it wrong,
And haply of our old acquaintance tell.
For thee, against my self I’ll vow debate,
For I must ne’er love him whom thou dost hate.

XCI

Some glory in their birth, some in their skill,
Some in their wealth, some in their body’s force,
Some in their garments though new-fangled ill;
Some in their hawks and hounds, some in their horse;
And every humour hath his adjunct pleasure,
Wherein it finds a joy above the rest:
But these particulars are not my measure,
All these I better in one general best.
Thy love is better than high birth to me,
Richer than wealth, prouder than garments’ costs,
Of more delight than hawks and horses be;
And having thee, of all men’s pride I boast:
Wretched in this alone, that thou mayst take
All this away, and me most wretchcd make.

CXVI

Let me not to the marriage of true minds
Admit impediments. Love is not love
Which alters when it alteration finds,
Or bends with the remover to remove:
O, no! it is an ever-fixed mark,
That looks on tempests and is never shaken;
It is the star to every wandering bark,
Whose worth’s unknown, although his height be taken.
Love’s not Time’s fool, though rosy lips and cheeks
Within his bending sickle’s compass come;
Love alters not with his brief hours and weeks,
But bears it out even to the edge of doom.
If this be error and upon me prov’d,
I never writ, nor no man ever lov’d.

 

The text passed of http://www.gutenberg.org/dirs/etext97/wssnt10.txt


Responses

  1. There are many great Shakespeare sonnets. My personal favourite is the 18th sonnet – “Shall I compare thee to a summer’s day”:

    Shall I compare thee to a summer’s day?
    Thou art more lovely and more temperate:
    Rough winds do shake the darling buds of May,
    And summer’s lease hath all too short a date:
    Sometime too hot the eye of heaven shines,
    And often is his gold complexion dimm’d;
    And every fair from fair sometime declines,
    By chance or nature’s changing course untrimm’d;
    But thy eternal summer shall not fade
    Nor lose possession of that fair thou owest;
    Nor shall Death brag thou wander’st in his shade,
    When in eternal lines to time thou growest:
    So long as men can breathe or eyes can see,
    So long lives this and this gives life to thee.

    I am studying Shakespeare on University, so I would recommend that you read THE TAMING OF THE SHREW.
    Šťasné a veselé Vianoce.

  2. Hi Honoris!
    Thanks for you recommend. I´ll read it. Have a nice day


Pridaj komentár

Kategórie

